Img: 37Kb

The Archipelago of the Azores

The Archipelago of the Azores consists of nine volcanic islands and several small islets, forming three groups along a tectonic zone running WNW-ESE between 37º and 40ºN latitude, 25º and 32º W longitude (northeastern Atlantic).

The Department of Oceanography and Fisheries at the University of the Azores (DOP/UAç) was established in 1976. The DOP/UAç is located in the town of Horta, island of Faial. Together with Pico, São Jorge, Graciosa, and Terceira it forms the central group of islands of the Archipelago of the Azores. Faial is an island fully devoted to the sea. Its history is strongly anchored in marine traditions.

The harbour of Horta is an important fishing port. Sailing yachts seek its marina on their way to Atlantic crossings.

The conservation of marine life and the sustainable use of the Atlantic Ocean in the region of the Azores are the ultimate goals of the marine scientists that work at the DOP/UAç. This view is shared with the younger generations of marine science students and research associates that come to study and work at the Department.

Other sites maintained by the Department:

Other relevant links about the Azores:

  Go Back